Mixtape Mondays: Chillaa, Guerilla Takeover, Finest Sound

August 1, 2016

Words by Deejay Theory


Broadcasting live from beautiful Bermuda (see above) we’ve got more music for you on deck as always at #MixtapeMondays to assist with your Monday program. Pull up to some new sounds below.

Chillaa, Automatic Wine Up 1.0: Strictly original tunes from Toronto producer Chillaa who’s been building credits and picking up steam as a rising force in the explosion of the TDot dancehall wave that’s happening right now. More underground artists like Ramriddlz and Nav have been doing their part to push the sound, along with of course the mainstream influence from artists like Tory Lanez and Drake. I’d expect to see a lot more from Chillaa and Rizzla (not to be confused with Rizzla from Fade To Mind) as this momentum continues. Madd mix overall. Stream below, tracklist and download here

Guerilla Takeover Sound, The Official Reggae on the River 2016 Mix CD: Northern California champion sound Guerilla Takeover compiled a solid selection of cuts from this year’s roster at the 32nd annual Reggae on the River festival taking place this weekend. Pushing up on 2.5 hours of music the mix rides tunes from this year’s headliners including Sizzla – who just got his first US visa secured in close to a decade – along with Anthony B, Kranium, Agent Sasco, Gappy Ranks, Protoje, Yellowman, Jesse Royal, Randy Valentine, oh yea and yours truly on the lineup as well! Take a moment to learn about “How Jamaica Met Humboldt“, then run this mix below. Tracklist and download here

Finest Sound, Smile Jamaica Vol.3: Wrapping up this week with some sweet reggae and dancehall music courtesy of “The Nordic Connection” Finest Sound repping all the way out from Estonia. Sometimes you just need a clean mix of new roots and one drop settings to ease the day and this one should do the trick nicely. Some current favorites from the likes of Chronixx, Ricky Blaze, Vybz Kartel, this wicked combination from Romain Virgo and Agent Sasco and more. Stream and download below, tracklist here